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Georgia Department of  Banking & Finance ~ Non -Depository Financial  Institutions Divis ion  

Quarterly Summary of Money Service Businesses Activities  
for the Period Ending June 30, 2014  

The new statutes, effective July 1, 2014,  pertaining to Money 

Service Businesses (MSB), O.C.G.A. §§ 7-1-680 through 7-1-

709.2, may be reviewed on Georgia’s General Assembly’s website 

at the following link:  http://www.legis.ga.gov/legislation/en-US/

display/20132014/HB/982 

 

You may access the Department of Banking and Finance’s (Department’s) Final 

Rules, effective June 30, 2014, from the Department's website:  

http://dbf.georgia.gov/sites/dbf.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/

DBFFinalRules_6-10-2014.pdf 

 

Special Edition Newsletters were issued last month, with information specific to each 

MSB license type.  You may view or download these newsletters from the Department’s 

website: http://dbf.georgia.gov/msb-newsletter.   

 

Please review the newsletters and the law and final rules for changes that affect each 

license type.  Please take note that there have been changes to certain fines and fees.  

Administrative fines and penalties can be found at Department Rule 80-3-1-.07.   

Law Changes Effective July 1st 

The changes to the law extended the annual license year of all check cashers and 

aligned the renewal period for all MSB license types.  As a result, the period for renewal 

for check cashers, sellers of payment instruments and money transmitters will begin on 

November 1st and end December 1st.  Any license that is not renewed before the close 

of the late renewal period (on or before December 31) will expire.   

This year’s renewal period will coincide with the Department’s transition of its MSB 

licenses onto the Nationwide Multi-state Licensing System (NMLS).   

Calendar-Year Annual License Period for All MSB Licenses 

http://www.legis.ga.gov/legislation/en-US/display/20132014/HB/982
http://www.legis.ga.gov/legislation/en-US/display/20132014/HB/982
http://dbf.georgia.gov/sites/dbf.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/DBFFinalRules_6-10-2014.pdf
http://dbf.georgia.gov/sites/dbf.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/DBFFinalRules_6-10-2014.pdf
http://dbf.georgia.gov/msb-newsletter
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Important Information for 

Sellers of Payment Instruments and Money Transmitters 

SURETY BONDS 

There is a new surety bond form on our website http://dbf.georgia.gov/forms-existing-check-seller-

licensees#Surety.  You must use the new bond beginning July 1, 2014.  Even if you have already increased 

the amount of your bond to reflect the changes in the law, the new surety bond form must be used.  Please update 

and submit the paper copy of this new surety bond to ensure compliance with O.C.G.A. § 7-1-683.2.   

 

For sellers of payment instruments, the minimum surety bond coverage amount will increase to $250,000, and 

additional coverage requirements will be based on outstandings, to a maximum of $2,000,000.  For money 

transmitters, the minimum surety bond coverage amount will increase to $100,000 and, additional coverage 

requirements will be based on outstandings, to a maximum of $2,000,000.  The number of agents no longer 

affects the amount of the bond. 

 

SEMI-ANNUAL REPORTS DUE BY AUGUST 14, 2014 

For specific instructions, please refer to the notices that were sent out last week.  Semi-Annual reports are due by 

August 14, 2014.  Late reports will subject the licensee to a fine of $1,000.  The report format has changed; please 

report the requested information for transactions that occurred January 1, 2014 through June 30, 2014 using the 

following link: http://dbf.georgia.gov/webform/semi-annual-reporting-sale-checkspayment-instruments-and-money-

transmitter-licensees 

 

Please notify the Department via email (msb@dbf.state.ga.us) regarding any changes in agents or locations.  

Remember, written notice must be made within 30 days after the licensee engages in business at new locations 

(including agents).  O.C.G.A. § 7-1-686(d). 

 

This Semi-Annual Report is the last one that will be filed on a semi-annual basis.  All future reports will be filed 

with the Department quarterly.  Further information will be provided before the first quarterly report is due. 

 

CHANGES IN OWNERSHIP, CONTROL AND EXECUTIVE OFFICERS REQUIRE PRIOR APPROVAL 

Prior approval is required for any person to become an ultimate equitable owner of any licensee through 

acquisition or other change in control or become an executive officer of  a licensee, pursuant to O.C.G.A. §  7-1-

688.  To obtain such an approval, a licensee must file an application with the Department and a pay a $500 

application fee.  Department Rule 80-5-1-.02(1)(d). 

All Georgia money service business licensees will transition to the 

Nationwide Multi-state Licensing System (NMLS) in the Fall of 2014.   

The Department is pleased to announce that it will begin using NMLS to manage our money service business 

licensees. NMLS is a secure web-based system created by state regulators to provide efficiencies in the 

processing of state licenses and to improve supervision of state-regulated industries. This year’s renewal 

process for the annual license year of 2015 will coincide with our transition of licensees onto the NMLS.  

Additional information detailing the process of renewal and transition will be provided. 

http://dbf.georgia.gov/forms-existing-check-seller-licensees#Surety
http://dbf.georgia.gov/forms-existing-check-seller-licensees#Surety
http://dbf.georgia.gov/webform/semi-annual-reporting-sale-checkspayment-instruments-and-money-transmitter-licensees
http://dbf.georgia.gov/webform/semi-annual-reporting-sale-checkspayment-instruments-and-money-transmitter-licensees
mailto:msb@dbf.state.ga.us?subject=2Qtr2014%20MSB%20NewsletterInquiry
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Important Information for Check Cashers 

The Department will no longer issue check casher registrations.  All check cashers registrants were converted to 

licensees, as of July 1, 2014, and all check casher licenses were extended through December 31, 2014.   

To print your check casher license, please visit: http://dbf.georgia.gov/print-my-check-casher-license-certificate.  

Every check casher licensed with the Department may advertise and may charge fees, as set out in O.C.G.A.  

§ 7-1-707(f): 

 

Pursuant to Rule 80-5-1-.02(2), check cashers must report additional locations to the Department.  Each 

additional location will be assessed a $50 fee annually. 

TYPE OF PAYMENT INSTRUMENT/CHECK CASHED FEE LIMITS 

State Public Assistance or Federal Social Security Benefit  
Payment Instruments/Checks 

3% or $5 (whichever is greater) 

All other checks 5% or $5 (whichever is greater) 

Personal Check or Money Order, Wallet or Debit Card tied to  
Individual's Account 

10% or $5 (whichever is greater) 

Deputy Commissioner for Non-Depository Financial Institutions Rod Carnes and Examiner Teresa Koeppel will be 

speaking on August 12, 2014, at 10:00 a.m. in Dalton, Georgia.  This is an opportunity for MSB Licensees to hear 

about the changes in the law and rules and to ask any questions.    

 

The event will be at the Northwest Georgia Trade and Convention Center (Dalton, GA), in the Blue lecture hall in 

the upper level of the building.  A floor plan of the conference center can be found on its website at:  

http://www.nwgtcc.com/FacilityInformation/FloorPlans/tabid/646/Default.aspx  

 

Northwest Georgia Trade and Convention Center 

2211 Dug Gap Battle Road 

Dalton, Georgia 30720 

800-824-7469/706-272-7676 

 
Email tkoeppel@dbf.state.ga.us to reserve your seat, and be sure to include your name(s), company name and 

license number.  Please review the new law and rules before hand and bring your own materials for taking notes. 

 

If you would like more information but are unable to attend, refer to Page 4 of this newsletter for a listing of the 

remaining Atlanta classes for 2014. 

Upcoming Department Presentation at 

Northwest Georgia Trade and Convention Center 

http://dbf.georgia.gov/print-my-check-casher-license-certificate
http://www.nwgtcc.com/FacilityInformation/FloorPlans/tabid/646/Default.aspx
mailto:tkoeppel@dbf.state.ga.us
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The Department will continue to hold a class at its main office every other month. The class benefits first-time and 

veteran check cashers. Classes are scheduled on Tuesdays at 10:00 a.m. and generally last about an hour and a 

half.  

There is no cost for the class and it is a great way to learn about Georgia law, Department regulations, the Bank 

Secrecy Act (BSA) and Anti-Money Laundering requirements. During examinations, those who have attended the 

class have stated that the knowledge and information they gained helped prevent violations and avoid the 

imposition of fines. As a further benefit, the Department provides a certificate of attendance that licensees may 

use as evidence of training received on BSA and Anti-Money Laundering.  

 

The classes are limited to a maximum of seven attendees, so you must make an advance reservation by calling 

770-986-1639 or emailing tkoeppel@dbf.state.ga.us. Reserve your seat NOW! We look forward to seeing you. 

  * Please note that the class schedule is subject to change 

Upcoming Atlanta Check Cashing Classes 

Upcoming 2014 Check Casher Class Dates and Times* 

July 15th, 10:00 AM 

September 16th, 10:00 AM 

November 18th, 10:00 AM 

 

Holiday Name Date Observed 

Labor Day Monday, September 1
st
 

Columbus Day Monday, October 13
th
 

Veterans’ Day Tuesday, November 11
th
 

Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 27
th
 

Lee’s Birthday will be observed on Friday, November 28
th
 

Christmas Day Thursday, December 25
th
 

Washington’s Birthday will be observed on Friday, December 26
th
 

Upcoming 2014 State Holidays 

mailto:tkoeppel@dbf.state.ga.us?subject=Presentation%20at%20Northwest%20Georgia%20Trade%20and%20Convention%20Center
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CHECK CASHERS 
APPROVED OR REINSTATED DURING THE 2ND QUARTER OF 2014 

MONEY TRANSMITTERS          
APPROVED OR REINSTATED DURING THE 2ND QUARTER OF 2014 
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CHECK CASHERS 
CLOSED DURING THE 2ND QUARTER OF 2014 

Corresponding with the Department 
 

When corresponding with the Department, e-mail communication is preferred.  Providing written details in the e-

mail regarding any questions or concerns you may have allows the Department to forward the request to the 

appropriate person who handles that area, and if sufficient details are included in the request, that person can then 

more efficiently provide you with an answer. The main Division e-mail address is msb@dbf.state.ga.us. 

Since the Department’s main method of communicating with licensees is via e-mail, it is very important that you 

supply the Department with a valid e-mail address and that you keep us informed if your e-mail address changes.  

Please be sure that your e-mail account does not divert Department e-mail to your spam or junk folder. 

Department Contact Information     

      

NAME E-MAIL ADDRESS  PHONE# 

Teresa Koeppel, Administrative Examiner tkoeppel@dbf.state.ga.us (770) 986-1639 

(Sellers-Issuers of Payment Instruments/Money Transmitters, MSB Exams)  

   

Susan Nelson, Applications Analyst nelson@dbf.state.ga.us (770) 986-1652 

(Check Cashers) 

mailto:msb@dbf.state.ga.us
mailto:msb@dbf.state.ga.us
mailto:tkoeppel@dbf.state.ga.us
mailto:nelson@dbf.state.ga.us


  2nd Quarter 2014 Page 7 

2990 Brandywine Road 

 Suite 200 

Atlanta, Georgia 30341-5565 

Phone: (770) 986-1633 

Fax: (770) 986-1655 or 1029  

 

Email: msb@dbf.state.ga.us  

Georgia Department of 

Banking and Finance 

We’re on the Web! 

dbf.georgia.gov 

The Department is the state agency that regulates and examines banks, credit unions, 

and trust companies chartered by the State. The Department also has regulatory and/or 

licensing authority over mortgage brokers/processors, lenders and loan originators, mon-

ey service businesses, international banking organizations, and bank holding companies 

conducting business in Georgia. 

 

Our MISSION is to promote safe, sound, competitive financial services in Georgia through 

innovative, responsive regulation and supervision.  

 

Our VISION  is to be the best financial services industry regulator in the country –  

Progressive. Proactive. Service-Oriented. 

Sign-up to Receive this Publication 

This quarterly publication is delivered to interested 

parties via e-mail and is also available from the 

Department’s website at: http://dbf.georgia.gov 

under Publications, MSB Newsletter. If you would 

like to be added to our distribution list, send an e-

mail to dbfpress@dbf.state.ga.us stating your name 

and e-mail address. Please be sure to include 

“Subscribe to MSB Newsletter” in the Subject 

line. 

mailto:msb@dbf.state.ga.us
http://dbf.georgia.gov
mailto:dbfpress@dbf.state.ga.us

